Supplies Unit



Supplies Unit is a department within the Ministry of Education Science and Technology which was established in 1994 to facilitate the supply of teaching and learning material to all public schools after the Introduction of Free Primary Education.

At first the Unit used to carry out Procurement Processes, storage and distribution of materials to schools. Currently Procurement is being done by the Procurement Unit based at the Ministry headquarters.

Therefore the Supplies Unit functions were streamlined to receiving, storage and efficient and effective distribution of some of the learning and teaching materials. The Unit has four warehouses in Liwonde, Blantyre, Lilongwe and Mzuzu.